Home > Out and About, Social Networking > The Road to World Conquest: Goin’ to Carolina in my car

The Road to World Conquest: Goin’ to Carolina in my car

I’ve survived several killing attempts by Alabama.

It couldn’t take me out with tornadoes. The ruthless heat waves didn’t melt me. And I made it through the gall bladder crisis largely intact.

But I can take a hint.

So, on July 25, the movers arrive to haul my stuff to the place I’ll be sharing with Catherine in Durham – back in North Carolina.

I met some great people while working at Bit Trap. I’ve had the opportunity to reconnect with my cousin Donna and her family. But life’s taking me back to the Eastern time zone and away from the crazy weather of the Tennessee Valley.

Before leaving, though, Catherine and I are taking advantage of our geographic base of operations to launch a road trip to Birmingham, Mobile, and New Orleans. We’ll pack Huck in the Juicebox and spend about a week on the road. I’m looking forward to it!

Then, once we’re back, we prep the apartment for our departure. On July 26, I should be back east of the Smoky Mountains in my previous stomping grounds.

What happens after that is up in the air. I’ve got several opportunities – some in journalism and public relations would keep me in Durham. One would keep me in the video game industry, but would require me to move to Austin, Texas.

One adventure at a time, though. I’ll worry about that situation once the road trip’s done!

  1. July 14, 2011 at 11:06 am

    Too bad Nebraska isn’t on your world tour. Good luck with your vacation and move back to NC.

    • July 14, 2011 at 11:09 am

      I drove through Nebraska once!

      (That was plenty.)

      Er. I mean. Thanks! 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

