Home > Out and About, Social Networking > The Road to World Conquest: Suiting Up for Anna’s Angels

The Road to World Conquest: Suiting Up for Anna’s Angels

This past weekend, for the first time since my wedding in 1992, I wore a tuxedo. And I didn’t hate it. It was a nice getup. I’m pretty sure it gave +4 to my Awesomeness stat. In fact, now I kind of want to have one so that I don’t need to rent it in the future.

Everything about the weekend trip to Durham went rather flawlessly. I got sized for the tux in Huntsville, but had the Men’s Wearhouse here send the tuxedo to their branch at Southpoint in Durham. The suit was there two days before the Anna’s Angels charity event, so Catherine and I had plenty of time to get there, try on the tuxedo, and make sure it would do the trick.

A note about the suit: The look was inspired by Christian Bale’s outfit at the Academy Awards ceremony in February. I’m not quite sure I pulled it off as well, but my facial hair was at least mostly under control.

Now, about the cause: Anna’s Angels is a grassroots charity organization in North Carolina that’s affiliated with Duke University’s research into Down Syndrome. About 200 people gathered at the Prestonwood Country Club in Cary to enjoy dinner and participate in an auction to raise money for the charity. Help them if you can!

 

  1. Tammie
    March 16, 2011 at 12:05 am

    You were priettier than Christian Bale, if I say so myself! And a good sport all around. Tell them the organization raised over 650k!

  2. Anonymous
    March 16, 2011 at 12:06 am

    I mean prettier………..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

