Home > Out and About > The Road to World Conquest: Territorial expansion

The Road to World Conquest: Territorial expansion

I’ve been looking at this the wrong way.

For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been stopping in my old haunts around Cary and Durham with the mindset that I’m enjoying them for what might be the last time.

That’s not going to be the case.

Yes, my career is taking me to Alabama, but Catherine’s in North Carolina and I’ll be returning regularly to see her.

In these last days before the move, I’ve had the opportunity to talk with others in similar – or even more extreme – long-distance relationship situations. Some split time between Durham and Philadelphia. Another couple straddles two continents and the Atlantic Ocean, between North Carolina and the Netherlands. I know others who commuted between Georgia and Florida, or even New York and Florida. They’ve all survived so far. Even thrived!

So, I’m no longer considering this change of address “moving.” Instead, in the tradition of all proper world conquerors, I’m just expanding my territorial borders.

Catherine’s place in the Durham tobacco warehouse district becomes *our* place in North Carolina. The new apartment in Huntsville becomes *our* place in Alabama. She’s going with me to help set everything up this weekend, and she’s bringing along candles, art, and some other items to make the apartment feel like her home when she visits. Her apartment is now set up with a monster gaming computer and will soon have a few of my action figures so that, when I come to town, it feels more familiar to me.

Time to re-draw the maps of Westanbul – it’s gotten much bigger than that ramshackle desk in the corner of the office at Icarus Studios.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

