Home > Game Development, Social Networking > The Road to World Conquest: Thanksgiving Edition…

The Road to World Conquest: Thanksgiving Edition…

Well, here we are, entering the third week of my pursuit of world conquest and, as of today, the mode is shifting from job search to relocation prep.

Next week, after spending Thanksgiving with the family in Florida, I’ll be visiting my future home of Huntsville, Alabama. It’ll be the next step in my career as a video game designer. I’ll have more to say about it down the road, but for now I’ll settle for saying that it’s an exciting opportunity and I’m supremely grateful to the gang for offering me somewhere cool to land in the wake of the layoffs.

I’ve also got reason to be thankful to the Employment Security Commission, which successfully sent me the first of what I hope will be a precious few unemployment checks. Bills can be paid! Christmas can happen!

I’m thankful to my girlfriend, Catherine, who is enduring a bit of stress right now because within months of finding each other it looks as though we’ll be transitioning to a long-distance relationship for a while. I’ve assured her that I’m relocating geographically, but not emotionally. She’s a huge part of my life, my relationship with her is something great that’s come from my time here in North Carolina, and I don’t intend to wreck that.

I’m grateful to the loving relatives and true friends who have supported me throughout this difficult time.

I’m forever grateful to Huck and the cats for giving me something else to worry about besides myself.

I’m intermittently thankful to the postal service, which intermittently delivers my mail.

And I’m very glad to have had the support of the staffers and players of OtherSpace (and some players of Fallen Earth, come to think of it) during this period.

Now it’s time to start looking at new places to live, get prices for movers, and make sure Catherine’s got those airline tickets so she can come down to visit me in Huntsville as often as possible!

  1. November 23, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    Great post! Grats on new job and I look forward to hearing about what it is. I’m a fan of Wes Platt’s work and attitude. Happy Thanksgiving and hope you have a great rest if the holidays 🙂

  2. November 24, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Awesome news about the job!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

