Home > Game Development, Social Networking > After the layoff: Day 5…

After the layoff: Day 5…

Better day today.

First and foremost, the post office now realizes that I’m still here. I got junk mail! Never thought I’d see the day when it would relieve me to see a crappy piece of junk mail in the box.

I made arrangements for the cats to be boarded during the Thanksgiving holiday, so that’s one less thing to worry about.

I applied for a few more jobs, at least one of which I’d really, really like and others that would be interesting and fun, but not necessarily perfect for me.

Talked for about 45 minutes with a game industry recruiter – Elizabeth over at gamerecruiter.com. She’s upbeat and optimistic. I’ll be doing some more research based on her advice, just to educate myself about the other opportunities out there.

Picked up groceries to carry me for the next couple of weeks – including, true confession time, some actual soft drinks with the things that are bad for me. So, I’m seriously obligated to exercise as much as I can if I’m going to spoil myself a little.

Today, I just felt a lot more energized and motivated. Much of yesterday’s malaise probably had a lot to do with the decision to scrap the NaNoWriMo project. Now that it’s no longer weighing on me, I’m on to bigger and more important things. And now I’m looking forward to the weekend.

  1. November 12, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Glad you were able to get back on the grid!

    I have to say, I’m really impressed with how you’re handling getting laid off. I’ve been through it once myself and didn’t do nearly as well. My hat’s off to you sir.

    • November 12, 2010 at 5:13 pm

      Thanks. It helps, oddly enough, that I’ve been through something like it before. I learned a few things from that experience.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

