After the layoff…

The temptation when you’re greeted with news that you’re being let go for financial reasons – or for any reason, now that I think of it – is to get shell-shocked and depressed.

It’s been less than eight hours since I got the news that three of us were being laid off from the remaining team at Fallen Earth. I don’t feel shell-shocked or depressed. It’s not like I have a small fortune in cash reserves to tide me over, but I just don’t see the benefit of wallowing in self-pity over a situation that ultimately was a business decision. I saw it happen to good, talented people six months ago. I knew it could just as easily happen to me. In recent months, I didn’t wonder IF it would, but WHEN. So, no, I wasn’t terribly surprised when the axe fell. I’m not angry. I’m not hurt. I had a great run working on Fallen Earth.

I can’t let it get me down. Now’s not the time for it. If anything, this is the time to reach down deep for every bit of optimism and enthusiasm that I can muster. It has to energize and motivate me. I have to take a negative situation and use it to fuel something positive. Anything less than that is pointless.

  1. November 9, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    I’m sorry to hear the news. I’m doing some military training so I haven’t had the time to check much gaming news out. I interviewed you once for FE and thought you were a very awesome person. You are a great writer (love the bacon stories), smart and very polite. Sorry to hear the news and I hope everything works out for you. I’ll be looking here to see what you been up to and faithfully following you on Twitter. All I can say is good luck with your future success.

    • November 9, 2010 at 10:22 pm

      Thanks so much! I’m confident about what the future holds for me at this point. Pretty excited at the opportunities that are rolling out right now. 🙂

      • November 9, 2010 at 10:30 pm

        By the looks of your resume on the next post, you have a great future in whatever you decide to embark on.

  2. November 9, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    One more thing before I go to bed:
    We game bloggers dream of what it is like to be a developer, a journalist, a person others hang on every word like a teacher or mentor. We think of what it would be like to be you. Of course, we don’t think of how much hard work you put in to get there, but we want to be like someone like you. You worked your butt off to do what you did and an other great opportunity will open to you. All because you worked your butt off to get there. It’s awesome you have done the thing a lot of us only dream of doing. I look up to all your great accomplishments. Unlike EALouse, you took the layoff like a real man and looked to the bright future. You have awesome attitude and that is a trait to look up to and dream about.

    • November 10, 2010 at 2:28 pm

      I appreciate the kind words. Unfortunately, or perhaps it’s fortunate after all, this isn’t the first time I’ve been in a situation like this. I don’t know that I handled my first experience as well as I should’ve. The years have given me a little more even temperament, I think.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

