Home > Game Development, Jointhesaga.com, OtherSpace > Too many doors to open

Too many doors to open

I think there’s just no room in even the above average attention span for a roleplaying MUSH to thrive anymore.

Next week, we celebrate the 12th anniversary of OtherSpace – an evolving collaborative space opera epic that’s been the shared creation of hundreds of participants from all over the world. We still manage to draw 50-60 people on our busiest nights, but the new blood is rare and the veterans just can’t do enough to gain and retain new prospects.

It’s no one’s fault. The world’s just so different these days. Back in the peak of our popularity, the worst distractions that threatened MUSH activity were:

* School/work
* TV shows
* Other text-based games

Now, we’re faced with those distractions, plus:

* Graphical MMORPGs
* Console games
* Smart phone apps
* Hulu
* Streaming Netflix
* Hundreds of cable channels
* Facebook – with Farmville, Castle Age, and Mafia Wars (among other attention funnels)
* Twitter

It’s not that hard to find a few minutes here or there to tend crops or help our friends fight boss monsters in a Facebook game. But who really has the time, energy, attention, and creative drive required to tell a collaborative evolving story?

It takes a special person to invest themselves in the effort of building a living novel, but such people, I think, are just becoming too rare a commodity anymore.

Sad but true: I envision a bigger draw for players to a web-based OtherSpace: Dominion game than we’ll ever see on the story-driven MUSH. It’s unfortunate, but it’s what people have time for. It’s as deep as most people are willing to go.

The age of the MUSH may really be over.

So, let’s assume it’s true. What’s next? Can the form evolve?

We’ve tried to experiment with other options – play-by-post in the forums and the Facebook fan page – but that’s never quite taken off. We’ve seen players start blogs to enhance the storytelling experience beyond the game. Again, they start, but they never really take off. Google Wave? Maybe, but that’s still less than elegant and not wildly popular.

I’ve heard some initial murmurings of a MUSH client for the iPad, but I remain skeptical that it would improve the likelihood of people committing themselves to the effort that’s necessary to create a quality storytelling environment on OtherSpace. It’s far more likely that iPad users would be drawn to apps like Plants vs. Zombies – quick fix, easy to drop, low intensity entertainment.

I’m not yet at the place where I want to call it quits with OtherSpace. However, I do think we might be reaching a point where we have to accept and embrace that the game’s never going to grow significantly and that the generation of players that we’ve got now may be the last of a dying breed.

  1. Sergeytov
    June 23, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    The odds were bad in 1998, too.

    A niche market is getting smaller, yes. My estimation was always that there’d first be a shaking out of weaker MU*s due to attrition. OS isn’t doing so bad on that point, given we still have regular play and the like. The other good thing about the shaking out is that there’s a possibility the survivors (of the 2000+ MU*s out there) can get stronger as there’s less options in the market.

    As for distractions? Distractions always existed. They will always exist, it’s always been a high investment activity. Usually in these kinds of comments I point out that, right now, MU* still has the potential to be a unique format that very little else can do. It can be massive, it can emulate tabletop with a live GM, it’s persistent.

    The new generation of ways to run RPGs is also here. Look at OpenRPG and its ilk. High speed internet also means you can run tabletop style campaigns through the internet. I don’t /like/ it right now, but it is a step away.

    One thing I posited a long time ago was that the key to survival is to find the advantages of this format, and work with those as best we can.

    • June 23, 2010 at 9:25 pm

      I never said we lacked distractions before. We just didn’t have so many. With the increase in distractions and the propensity for people to spend more time on quick-hit activities, it becomes far less likely that we’re going to see MUSHes get much in the way of new blood.

      A niche novelty? Sure. As long as we own that and keep our expectations realistic, that’s fine.

  2. Razorback
    June 23, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    It’s a sad possibility, but one we may have to face. I myself have maybe two years left that I can actually say I’d have the time. At some point, I’d like to have a family, and I’d prefer not to have to worry about a scene interfering with the amount of attention I can give to a crying infant.
    I have been able to RP from a phone in the past, but that requires more attention than it does when done on a computer. These days, we have more downtime between poses than we used to.
    If you look at logs from 5-10 years ago, poses were much smaller on average. Maybe we were younger then and not as articulate, but I remember sitting down and RPing scenes in the course of a half hour. Now I have to block out, at the very least, 2-3 hours if I even dream of attending an event.
    Not sure what could be done about that, if anything, but … meh.

    • June 24, 2010 at 8:25 am

      Those are valid concerns, whether or not you’ve got a family. In this day and age, we just don’t have time to slow down as much. I share your nostalgia for the old days when we could knock out a fast-paced scene. The thing is, I don’t think it’s because we write more than we ever did. The problem is that we’re slower because of the lack of attention span. So many other things distract us, whether it’s other open MUSH windows, Facebook, Skype, AIM, MSN Messenger, Yahoo Messenger, smart phone texts, or Twitter.

      It affects all of us and throws every scene into quicksand. Twelve years ago, we seemed more focused on the scene at hand. Now…the scenes become an afterthought.

    • Feanceza
      June 24, 2010 at 8:51 am

      Yeah for 30 minute scenes? 😉

  3. Raisin
    June 23, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    Granted, I don’t actually play anymore but I saw your post via Facebook and found myself curious…

    I’d like to point out that in my day, the MUSH itself was my distraction from everything else. That’s actually one of the reasons I hesitate to come back again.

    Sure things are changing and I don’t know the types of people you draw now days but I seem to recall that it was quality of quantity and while veterans have to eventually move on because things keep changing in their lives, people that actually enjoy RPing are pretty loyal. There are plenty of people out there still that would love to partake in the interactive novel idea – believe me, I went to school with them – and it’s just a matter of reaching out to the right communities, I think.

    Good luck, old man! I really do miss your game.

    • June 24, 2010 at 8:21 am

      Well, I wish it was as easy as finding the right communities. I don’t think it is. I used to. Not anymore. With word of mouth from just 30-40 people, we should be generating lots of new interest. The concern is that no one’s talking or, worse, they are and people just don’t want to make the time to participate.

      • Some Dragon-Esque Type
        June 24, 2010 at 8:48 am

        There is, of course, one other possible concern to think about – namely:

        e) None of the above.

  4. Franceza
    June 24, 2010 at 9:05 am

    I’m not sure if it’s all the new stuff that’s keeping a game small. There’s always been plenty distractions around, digital or otherwise. And let’s face it, text based games have never been the new ‘it’. I’ve been playing now for how long? Too long 😉 And in all that time I’ve always (always always) had to explain what in the world it was I was doing. Totally unknown. Nothing’s changed there. Maybe easier to understand what with LARP getting so active the last 5 years or so (at least here, what with all the fantasy festivals). But with anything small, whether it’s a business, a game, a social club or whatnot, the founders/organisers will have to put more energy into it than they’ll ever get out of it. Nature of the *har* game. So the question should probably be: what do you and the admin want out of it? Do you want a big big game, you have to put big big time, energy and these days probably money into advertising it, running it. Not that you’re not already, but even more so. Compared to what you’re already doing? BIG big. Word of mouth just doesn’t cut it.
    How many people like reading a book
    How many of those would like to (contribute to) write a book
    How many of those are interested in the sci-fi genre
    How many of those are interested in this particular universe(s)
    How many of those have the time to invest in playing…
    Etc

    In the end it’s probably not about the fresh blood but about the loyalty of your players and Wes dear, I don’t think you can complain about that 😉

    Game on!

    • June 24, 2010 at 9:43 am

      Oh, player loyalty is a totally different animal and, truth be told, players are fickle beasts. MUSH players, so much more so. Another topic for another blog post – thanks! 🙂

  5. Razorback
    June 24, 2010 at 11:44 am

    I just talked to my fiance a few minutes ago, concerning this, in fact. As some of you know, I convinced her to give Otherspace a try, mostly for ulterior motives, of course. 🙂
    When she did finally get over the hurdle of how dumb she thought the whole thing was, she sat down, created a character and bio. The character she’d created was actually pretty cool, though I had to advise her away from some of the many pitfalls a lot of newbies fall into. (Parents dead, etc.) The following day, we tried a scene of her appearing on Comorro. The whole thing took about three hours, and she finally just had the character faint dead away because she couldn’t take it any more.
    Today, she was telling me that the experience itself wasn’t that bad, it was the waiting for her turn to pose. That and the fact that a relatively simple scene took several hours.

    • June 24, 2010 at 12:13 pm

      Yep. This is definitely an issue.

      • Jeff Ryqn
        June 25, 2010 at 10:54 am

        For me this was the reason I finally had to finally actually leave after several attempts at a comeback. It’s 12am, I can stay maybe 2 hours and I get four poses in in a big scene. It was just too tiring.

        I miss OtherSpace, enough that fairly regularly I attempt a return, but always on that return I remember why I left. Time. More than anything else. Time. And no I was never distracted, I can’t multitask so when I was playing I was playing and nothing else. But it was obvious a lot of people were at least trying to multitask. And slowing everything WAY down.

  6. Anonymous
    June 24, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    I have played another MUD on the side for many years. Less RP intensive, less involving, much more like farming crops on FB (not that I do that when I can avoid it). For all that time, we’ve never had more than 20 players on at a time, and despite players coming and going (Me being one of the few who stayed up until recently due to personal differences with the admin) we’ve still managed to keep it at an average of ten players on a day. This may not seem like much, but it seems to me that there will always be a demand for the MUSH/MUD style game. The demand will become less, and the MUSH/MUD may have to change a little to cope with this, but it will be there.

    • June 24, 2010 at 3:40 pm

      That’s why I specify “age of MUSH” as opposed to “age of MUD.” MUSHes can’t just change “a little.” They basically have to turn into MUDs, by this reasoning.

      The slowdown is in the player interactions with other players. The only way to make that faster is to remove the bit where you rely on other players to speed things along. That means more automation, less storytelling – in which case, you might as well be playing Farmville.

      • Chiro
        June 26, 2010 at 2:02 pm

        That’s almost hostile Brody. I really expected better.

      • June 26, 2010 at 2:32 pm

        I’m not sure why this seems hostile. It’s a simple statement of fact: People are slower, thus poses are slower.

  7. Razorback
    June 24, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    Well, here’s an idea.
    I’m not suggesting this is the answer to our problem, but it’s worth looking at. At some point in the near future, I will hold a test event. It will be calendared, so people will know what they’re getting into. The event itself will have a time limit, as will individual poses. For now, I will say a limit of three minutes from the time the person ahead of you poses.
    If that seems not enough time, I welcome alternative suggestions. If you miss your turn, no one pokes you, or gets mad at you, but you have to wait until your next rotation comes up.

    Again, just a test. Not trying to be heavy-handed, I would just like to try it. It is a challenge for me, as much as anyone.

    • Bahamut
      June 24, 2010 at 5:52 pm

      You’d probably be better off attempting to set a limit on the number of lines per pose, or limiting each pose to a single paragraph, than trying to set a time limit.

      I always wanted to do a novelty scene, back in the day, in which I’d have had people limited to one-sentence poses – half as a creative writing thing, and half just for fun.

      Might be interesting to try what I never did. :3

      • Razorback
        June 24, 2010 at 6:27 pm

        Well, that does make sense, and perhaps I’ll try both ways, but my concern someone would be waiting for five to ten minutes for a two-liner.
        I will see about giving it a try, though.

    • Raisin
      June 24, 2010 at 6:58 pm

      I was always a fan of the quick poses, mostly because I’m about as impatient as they come. I remember we used to have a general three person rule. I know probably not the best for event scenes because someone will spend half an hour crafting a perfect pose but have it not really mean anything anymore because everyone who can type much more quickly will have spit out half a dozen poses in the time that person completed their one.

      I do like your idea though, Razor but there are a lot of people who don’t think that quickly or write that quickly. I noticed toward the end of my time people were getting much more nitpicky about little things and that seemed to be another reason for why poses slowed down. I understand wanting to say the right thing (I went to school as a writing major…) so it’s valid but I think people need to get over themselves. We’re all around to have fun, not show that you’re god’s gift to writing.

      • June 24, 2010 at 7:00 pm

        We already use three-pose, ESPECIALLY due to the problem of people being slow, even with one or two line poses.

  8. Loki
    June 26, 2010 at 10:50 am

    I’ve been following a suggestion that another staffer gave me when we were discussing this problem once before. In that particular case the discussion came about because of a particular player, but I’ve found that this can and has applied to several people on the mush (including myself on occasion).

    To explain better: There were a few players that complained to me of another player that was A.) Slow at posing, B.) Had a tendancy to AFK with no warning other than to announce they were back afterwards, and C.) Simply get distracted and have to be poked to get a pose.

    The thing is, from what I’ve seen it isn’t just that one person that’s guilty of this. The solution I was given was to warn the player that if poses couldn’t be timely then there was a possibility of being passed up in pose order. I also remember back when I first started playing that this was something that would happen. It wasn’t like we sat around timing it out or anything, but if a player took long to reply they would be passed over for that moment, but were still welcome to make a pose as soon as they were able or when their next turn came around. The only problem I do find with this is when you’re waiting for a response to something in particular from that person. Otherwise I don’t think it’s an unreasonable practice.

    That isn’t to say that I don’t understand that there can be extenuating circumstances. I have been the one on the other end of that and I do realize that stuff happens. I’ve had everything happen from the cats trying to get attention by tearing up the house to a roommate that had a seizure. Things happen and sometimes completely unexpectedly. If you have to go then kindly let people know. If something causes you to have to leave with little warning or if you simply become distracted then don’t be surprised if things continue on in your absence.

  9. Chiro
    June 26, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    There will come a time when you acknowledge that the MUSH will not be around forever, and it will be soon. You will look at the dwindling pbase, and sometimes, there won’t be a pbase to look at. And at that time you will ask yourself “Has the age of the MUSH really ended?”

    This last blog of yours tells me two things:

    When you get to that time, when there are days where no-one logs into the MUSH, you will close it down, and,

    You’re obviously not here for the same reasons we are.

    You are dead right, with all these latest distractions, the average attention span has no time for a MUSH. We who play your MUSH do not have the average attention span. The audience that your MUSH has attracted has not been distracted by WoW, or anything else out there. We always come back. Instead of looking at what new gadgets or facebook games are out there to steal our attention, perhaps you should be focusing on what it is here that might be making people leave.

    As long as there are people like us, a MUSH somewhere will be running, and as long as there are people like us, that MUSH will have players. It will not have as many players as WoW. It will not be as popular as plants vs zombies. But as long as there are people like us, the age of the MUSH will not see its end.

    That gives us what? At least a lifetime.

    This post wasn’t asking our ideas, it didn’t even ask for opinions, yet here they are. Opinions, ideas, and a multitude of people who aren’t ready to give up on the MUSH yet either.

    • June 26, 2010 at 2:34 pm

      How can you say the blog post wasn’t asking for your ideas? A couple of things:

      1) It’s a blog post, with a reply feature. By default, the hope is there that you’ll reply with something useful. It is intended to generate discussion. If I just wanted to opine without feedback, I’d post something on the in-game BB.

      2) I specifically said “So, let’s assume it’s true. What’s next? Can the form evolve?” It’s not being asked to the vacuum. It’s being asked of you and anyone else who happens to read it.

      • Chiro
        June 26, 2010 at 3:09 pm

        I’m sorry, did I write a reply that was one paragraph? My mistake… obviously I left the entire point of the thing up to the fact that you’d be so defensive you wouldn’t bother asking anyone’s opinion. 😛

      • June 26, 2010 at 3:12 pm

        Awesome.

  10. Falk
    June 28, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    Ahem. Prepare yourself for what, in the golden-oldie days of OS, we once called a Falking.

    I was one of the original players of OS. I wasn’t there on the first night 12 years ago, but I knew Brody, Colchek and a bunch of the original admin team from another game, and at their urging I gave it a try for the first time a few nights later. And so, John Christian Falkenberg, pirate, smuggler, mercenary, rogue and Lunite step-dancing champion, was born.

    Ok, I made the step-dancing part up. But still, I played on OS until the end of 2003 or early 2004. At the time I left, my life was changing; I had just gotten engaged and was moving in with my fiance, who had no interest in this or any other online game, and I wanted to spend more time with her. Since then I’ve had 3 kids, received my doctorate and taken a full-time teaching job.

    My life is just not what it was back in 1998. Or 2003. So while I’ve kept in touch with Wes from time to time and about once a year or so I pop in to OS to say “Hi,” and more often than that I visit the website, forums, wiki, etc., there’s little else I have time for, despite the fact that I loved the game, and the character I played in it, dearly, and often felt I hadn’t given him a suitable end. In my mind, Falkenberg’s story isn’t over, but I lack the time to come to OS, revive him, and pick up the story. Today’s OS is not really my OS anymore, as so much has changed since I left. I’m sure there are a LOT of oldbies who could tell similar stories to the one I’ve just laid out. (But wait, I’m just getting started!)

    Others in this comment thread have mentioned that one of the problems with OS was how long scenes had become. This had been a problem long before I left. As the game grew, it attracted a variety of different types of players, who developed new posing styles, added to the flavor and depth of the game in many ways, and also tended to extend the length of scenes significantly. This wasn’t always a bad thing, but it got to be frustrating, especially when there were some very good players who favored very long poses and were VERY VERY slow typists. I myself was no stranger to the wordy pose now and then, but I happen to be a REALLY FAST typist (which is one reason I always wrote such long forum posts…doesn’t take me half as long to write it as it does for you to read it!) It got frustrating to wait for other people to pose in large scenes, especially when some took a long time to get out one pose. If you made a comment to someone about speeding up, you were accused of interfering with their RP style. Added to the problem was the fact that the Mush got pretty darn big for a while, with 70-100 PCs logged in regularly for major events, and sometimes more. Scenes that in the first year or two of OS might have say, 5-10 characters involved, now had 15-20. That many more people posing meant more chaotic, drawn out scenes as everyone wanted to get their say and their reactions in. I’d say I first noticed this problem around the beginning of Arc VIII of the original OS storyline (I think it was VIII, maybe VII) when Sanctuary returned home. This was one of the most exciting times on OS, but the scenes involved in that event were incredibly long because they literally involved the whole population of the Mush participating at once. At the time, that was an oddity. (This was 2001 or thereabouts). Over the next few years, having large numbers of long-posers in every scene became more commonplace. Heck, in the first year or so of OS, we didn’t even worry much about niceties like pose order, because there were only a handful of people in each scene and so you didn’t have to worry about it. By the time I left, you practically needed a pose-order ref just to keep order during major events.

    I myself responded to this at first by focusing on RPing with a small core of people whose styles I was comfortable with and who were comfortable with me…my crew, and a small group of associated friends and associates. But I still liked being a player in the big events, and when, in 2003, my character was able to alert the galaxy to the danger posed by Majordomo Grim (leading, among other things, to the Sivadian assault on Tomin Kora that toppled Cabrerra Industries and left much of Shadowheart in ruins), I very much wanted to take part in the storyline that resolved the crisis created by Grim’s emergence. It was during that storyline, however, that my RL crashed right into my OS life. It was late 2003, I was just at the beginning of the life changes I described above, and the scenes were taking SO LONG, I just couldn’t do it. I could easily handle 2 or 3 hours a night, but 5, 6, 7 hours? No. I had to keep leaving, halting RP for others who were involved in the story. I finally realized it wasn’t fair to everyone else to keep going and keep them waiting for me all the time. So I left. It was a hard decision. I still wish things had gone differently.

    Thing is, the long scenes, the long poses, a lot of newer (from my perspective) OSers grew up in the game with that. So it wasn’t that big a deal for them, for a while, I think. And that’s fine. That was what OS was for them, and it was fun, they liked it, the game thrived, etc. It was just, for me, either the game had outgrown me, or I had outgrown it, depending on how you looked at it. Actually, I always saw it as more of the former than the latter, but it was probably a bit of both. The game was asking for more and more time at a moment in my life when I had less and less to give.

    I’m sure others had the same experience, and older players dropped away, a little at a time, over the years. There are a few holdouts, I think, true oldbies who still show up once in a while. But the game, for many years, brought in new players to replace the old. Some of the most important PCs in the first five or six years of OS are probably totally unknown to many of the newer players today, to the point that they don’t even know their names. That’s as it should be. The game goes on, and people like me are just echoes of the past.

    But I think what Wes was getting at in his post about too many doors, is that the internet has changed so much that what once made text-based gaming unique and exciting has reduced it to being just one more thing to play with and against other people on the internet. That was once a pretty rare opportunity. By 1998, there were already what seemed to be exploding options for online gaming, as most PC games were coming out with multi-player options for the first time. But that kind of stuff was in its infancy, and text-based gaming was cheaper and more accessible. Even then, though, it seemed like Mushes, MUDs and the like were relics that were on their way toward extinction. If Wes seemed crazy in starting Otherspace back in the day (and there were those I knew on more established games who said he was) it was because he was trying to start up an original theme at a time when even established-themed games like Star Wars and Star Trek Mushes were struggling to attract new players. Wes did it anyway, and it worked, brilliantly.

    A lot of that had to do with him. He made a world others wanted to play in, made it expansive, responsive, flexible, exciting. He never left it alone, was always tweaking, adding things, subtracting them, coming up with new story lines, promoting the game ad infinitum, and eventually he built up a following of loyal players who did the same…took on some of the heavy lifting of promoting the game, and things really took off.

    But as the game grew, you not only had the problem of longer scenes, you had the problem of a complex theme becoming more complex by the hour, as OS developed its own history, its own canon, that players needed to master in order to fully get involved. This was intimidating to newbies. Wes has tried to address this problem many times…he created Waldheim, which was meant to be a world cut off from the rest of the galaxy until fairly recently, so Waldheimers would have an excuse to not know the extensive backstory. When that didn’t solve the problem, he relaunched the game as OS:New Journeys right around the time I left. To my departing gaze, the main effect of that change was to renumber the story arcs, starting over at arc I, which I guess was less scary than Arc XVIII, which is what it would have been otherwise. But it couldn’t wipe out the previous six years of history, or the shared experiences of the characters who had been around for so long and had helped make that history. It’s my understanding that this was one of the motives for the most recent “relaunch” of OS into hiverspace and the drastic alterations to the theme that went along with it, allowing once again for new players to enter without having to master the whole long canon of OS history. But it seems to me that as long as you have players RPing in the game who were a part of that long history, newbies would still struggle with following references to things that happened in the past. The game is, after all, by the standards of these types of games, pretty old. Not that that’s a bad thing.

    So you have three converging problems: a culture of long scenes that has been in place for many years now, combined with a long history that, despite Wes’s best efforts to offer shortcuts and simplifications, must be daunting to newbies, combined with lots of shorter, simpler forms of online entertainment available for people who don’t want to commit that much time and effort to being entertained. None of this is really news, as it’s been said by Wes and some of the other commentors above. But here’s the point of this whole long Falking.

    Those of you who are still there, those of you who are still playing or who have come to the game in recent years and added to its growth, you’re there DESPITE all of these things. You’re dedicated. You’re there because you care about the game and see it as fun enough and important enough to remain a part of your lives, to be worth of the time and effort that goes into being part of a long scene, to be worthy of knowing enough of the backstory to give your character a place in it. That’s not a bad thing. In fact, it’s kind of how OS started out…a smallish group of very dedicated players and admins who wanted to have fun with each other and found ways to make it happen despite the obstacles, which back in those days included unreliable 56k dial-up connections running on much slower computers. OS was a special place then. I’m sure it still is now. Some of the best times I ever had on OS came when there were 10-15 people logged in or less. So don’t fret. The game will continue as long as Wes wants to put in the effort and so do all of you. That won’t be forever, but it doesn’t need to be. Its your game, have fun with it no matter if there are 10 people online or 120.

    • Bahamut
      June 28, 2010 at 3:30 pm

      ಥ_ಥ

      Beautiful.

    • June 28, 2010 at 3:50 pm

      An epic Falking. Win!

      • Bahamut
        June 28, 2010 at 4:49 pm

        I’m not sure it’s “Win”, per se – but it’s neat to see a Falking on a purely nostalgic level.

      • June 28, 2010 at 4:50 pm

        It’s win!

      • Jeff Ryan
        June 28, 2010 at 8:01 pm

        I also sort of lost my emotional core when Jeff died. The reboot, the reworking and bringing Gideon in as his successor might have worked, but the decision to run OS and Millenium (after I’d decided to kill Jeff off because of that reboot) took a lot of steam out of me. The decision to soldier on with Sam on Millenium was just a temporary boost as well as the next reboot shunting us all over to the new game.

        I tried to pull things together last year, but that only worked when I was locked away in a room in Scotland for three months. When I returned to Italy the old time constraint issues cropped up again.

        But my old ‘soldier on, no matter what’ sort of left me when Jeff died. And tempting as it would be to bring him back via rifts or whatever would feel too much like cheating. His story’s told and I don’t have the emotional energy to invest it wholey into Sam.

        Shame, that kid had a nice story in my head.

  11. Andrew Raryan
    July 2, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    I am Andrew Raryan, and I am here to ask you a question: is a MUSHer not entitled to the text from his own fingers?

    “NO”, says the man on WoW, “RP is teh ghey.”

    “NO”, says the man on Plants vs. Zombies, “Laura Shigihara has entrapped me.”

    “no,” says the man on Twitter, “imma goin owt 2nite wit teh gf insted shud be kewl lol XD”

    I rejected those answers. Instead, I chose something different. I chose the impossible. I chose…

  1. February 17, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Leave a Reply

