Home > Movies, Out and About > Time for a little fun

Time for a little fun

I went into this movie with expectations below those I had for Gemma Arterton’s last movie, Clash of the Titans. In the case of Titans, I had low expectations and found that movie fell shorter than I’d anticipated. With Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time, however, I discovered something that was surprisingly enjoyable, if relatively mindless.

The platformer video game homage action does get a bit tiresome after a while, though. Seeing Jake Gyllenhal bounce from wall to wall or make death-defying leaps across open spaces starts to become like an endless rerun of the last five minutes of Ferris Bueller’s Day Off – complete with a moment where the hero stumbles on a few pretty girls with whom to flirt during the chase.

But it’s a fun movie, Ben Kingsley is wonderfully evil, and I spent a lot of time wondering who the hell played Prince Tus. For much of that time, I thought it was this guy:

However, it turns out that it was THIS guy!

Jeff, from the British TV series Coupling! He was my favorite character on the show.

Anyway, I thought I’d hate Prince of Persia. I didn’t. Go figure!

  1. May 29, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    I never really played the games and steer clear of video game movies in the movie theater. I’ll see it on DvD. Great review, but it is about what I expect of the movie, meh.

    • May 29, 2010 at 7:05 pm

      Loved the TRON Legacy trailer. But I’ve got a question about this Legend of the Guardians movie about the talking owls: How do they get the helmets on their heads?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

