Home > Game Development, Jointhesaga.com, OtherSpace > Thinking About: Breaking bad

Thinking About: Breaking bad

It’s amusing that some people out there in the universe think that I’m some kind of devil.

I’m trying to grasp what it is about me that’s so evil. Maybe others can help guide me to the light.

Is it that I’ve changed web designs and upset the game theme so many times over the years?

Is it that I’m occasionally blunt to the point of rudeness in text communication?

Is it that Neidermeyer never quite seems to stay dead?

Is it that I taint the “pure” roleplayer’s habitat with MMO-style achievement opportunities, such as badges and belts?

Is it that I have the temerity to seek ways to get my game development hobby (job) to pay for itself?

Is it that there’s some perception that I play favorites with people?

Is it that people think I’m a snob? Or that I’m not snobby enough?

Or is it that I kick puppies, eat kittens, and steal candy from babies?

I’m not perfect. Far from it. I am flawed. I’m always looking for ways to improve and grow.

To those who like me: Hi.

To those who hate me: Hi.

To those who fear me: Boo!

To those who just don’t care: How did you manage to read this far? Good on you.

To everybody: No matter what differences we might have had in the past, know that I wish nothing but the best for you now and in the future. I can’t say I’ll forgive and forget every offense committed against me any more than I’d expect you to give me a pass on any slights, perceived or real, that I’ve committed against you. But, for what it’s worth, everybody’s got value.

One of the reasons I started this blog and initiated facets of it such as the Between-the-Lines posts was to give a more transparent view of how I work and what makes me tick. It’s my hope that this helps alleviate the idea that I’m some kind of monster. Or not. Like I said, it IS sort of amusing to hear that you’ve made that kind of impact – especially when you consider the source.

I leave you with this exchange from one of my favorite movies:

Norrington: You are without doubt the worst pirate I’ve ever heard of.
Jack Sparrow: But you have heard of me.

  1. Arie Taylor
    March 3, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    I thought you kicked babies, ate puppies, and stole candy from kittens. Hm.

    No, seriously. I’ve been known to have a (vehemently expressed) opposition to some of your ideas, but I don’t think you’re evil. I really am kidding when I say that stuff (OH GOD ITS A BRODY EVENT EVERYONE MAKE SURE YOU BRING THREE LUCKY BREAK CARDS), and if it seems like anyone’s taking it at all seriously, I let them know that. ๐Ÿ˜›

    I’ve read some interesting (read: hilarious) diatribes on your ‘evils’ on various forums, and for the most part, they sound like people with a serious case of not wanting your stupid old sour grapes anyway.

    • March 3, 2010 at 6:23 pm

      Yeah, you know, the campaigns of truth out there are pretty amusing. If they put half the effort into being better human beings that they did into trying to smear my name, they’d be so much better off.

  2. March 3, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    I’m sorry, but I find that ‘Brody broke my heart, and I hate him’ picture hilarious. Who can hate you?

    I know we’ve had our run in’s in the past, and I know I annoyed the heck out of you on more then one occasion between 1998 and 2004… But I respect you and think you’re doing a great job.

    • March 3, 2010 at 6:24 pm

      My mom wants to know why people hate me too. ๐Ÿ˜€

      And, yes, it’s no secret that some players clash with me from time to time. I don’t consider any of them evil, per se. Just…troubled? Anyway, I can’t think of anyone on the MUSH these days who really drives me crazy. I like the crowd we’ve got!

      • March 3, 2010 at 6:35 pm

        Awwww isn’t that sweet… Mommy’s worried about you ๐Ÿ˜‰
        Just teasing you, bossman.

  3. Rar
    March 3, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Ny favorite is when you get these people who are like “I HATE BRODY FOR SOMETHING HE SAID TO ME / DIDN’T LET ME DO FIVE YEARS AGO” and Brody’s all like “(I don’t know who you are!)”.

    And then it turns out it’s some dude who didn’t get past CharGen because Brody denied his application on the grounds that he couldn’t be a bi bi-polar polar bear or something.

    Those or the doomsayers. The doomsayers are equally lulzy. “BRODY WILL DESTROY THE MUSH UNLESS PEOPLE ALL REVOLT!”

    Oh! Oh! Or the Internet Tough Guys! The “IF HE SAID THAT TO ME IN PERSON HE’D LOSE A FEW TEETH” types. Hilarious.

    Or MU* royalty? “DON’T YOU KNOW WHO I AM? I’M FAMOUS ON SOME MU* YOU’VE NEVER HEARD ABOUT! I’M FAMOUS ON THE INTERNET!!!”

    The list. She is endless.

    • March 4, 2010 at 9:00 am

      I suppose I *have* earned a bit of grumpiness from people who had their bad biographies posted and openly mocked on the Internet.

  4. Chiro
    March 4, 2010 at 7:10 am

    You won’t ever be able to do the job you do, and walk away with people who /don’t/ want to make little badges of hate for you (it means that you’re doing it properly). I probably don’t need to tell you this, but for those that perhaps hadn’t thought of it, Brody is in the position where he /has/ to make the hard decisions. He /has/ to sometimes make the unpopular move.
    I haven’t been around very long, so I haven’t seen very many of your ‘rude’ comments, but for the most part you seem to want what’s best for the MUSH, and in the end, what else matters?
    Friend, Foe, I don’t care, you’re doing your job and you’re doing it well.

    • March 4, 2010 at 9:03 am

      I like to think that this is true, but I’ll be the first to admit that sometimes the decisions I make – whether it’s something I want to do in the game or something another staffer is pushing forward for their agenda – take things off the rails. But that’s the nature of this beast, ultimately.

      All in all, I try to think in terms of what’s best for the long-term survival of the game. That doesn’t always mean that it makes much sense in the short term.

  5. March 4, 2010 at 9:21 am

    Personally, I’m grateful just to be able to play the game period. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Rar
    March 4, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    “There are two ways of living,” he said. “Either you conceal who you are and get acceptance, or you reveal yourself and risk rejection. I think it’s better to be hated for what you are than loved for what youโ€™re not.”

    I suspect that extends to Staffing a MU*, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Kallyn
    March 4, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    I don’t agree with you most of the time, but that mostly appears to be a clash of gaming styles. Mostly unavoidable, but not a source of anything stronger than the occasional mild irritation. People will never agree 100% of the time, after all.

    But I don’t hate you. Nor do I think you’re evil or an idiot or anything to that effect.

    (That crazy sister of mine who you banned from Chia doesn’t hate you either! She insisted I tack that on.)

    • March 4, 2010 at 6:54 pm

      Your sister…OR YOUR SPECIAL SOCK PUPPET?! (Kidding.)

  8. Bahamut
    March 4, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Kallyn :(That crazy sister of mine who you banned from Chia doesnโ€™t hate you either! She insisted I tack that on.)

    She hates me, though. >:3

  9. Bahamut
    March 5, 2010 at 12:15 am

    Anyhow, the moral of the tale is this:

    BRODY YOU ARE BAD AND YOU SHOULD FEEL BAD.

  10. Kallyn
    March 5, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Nuu! Brody’s not bad! *snugs-a-Bro* He’s just misunderstood!

  11. Smithy
    March 6, 2010 at 12:08 am

    Don’t sweat it, buddy. So long as I’m here, people can look to me and think, “Well, it could be worse.”

    • March 6, 2010 at 12:12 am

      Now now. Nobody says that. ๐Ÿ™‚

      The butt of many jokes you may be, but we are often secretly jealous of Your Wordiness.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

