Home > Between the Lines, Game Development, Jointhesaga.com, OtherSpace > Between the Lines: “Rebirth/Day of the Dead”

Between the Lines: “Rebirth/Day of the Dead”

Here’s a situation where we didn’t have a lot of necessary behind-the-scenes communication but, in my opinion, it ultimately worked out just fine and over time may serve the bigger story arc even better than my original plan.

Loki and I had talked earlier this year about allowing Necromundus characters to make the transition to OtherSpace – just like we did with Chiaroscuro – at the conclusion of an open-a-portal plot over on Necro. When we first talked about it, I had taken from it the understanding that the event would take place well into the Shattered Mirror arc and possibly as part of the finale. I wanted to take time to figure out how we would migrate various skills, what items might be transferable, how to deal with RPP – all the housekeeping stuff, which is already behind because I also need to do the same sort of thing for some former Chiaroscuro and OS:M players.

The night before Sunday’s crossover event, I got clued in that we were bringing people over NOW.

This was frustrating, of course, because it tossed a wrench in my long-term “plan.” I know Loki felt bad about it. She had meant to discuss the event concept with me, but RL had kept that from happening. So, here I was, with no real warning to speak of, expected to come up with an event on the OtherSpace side to help introduce the Necro folks.

It wasn’t frustrating for long. Ultimately, it was energizing. Loki ran a scene using a “medium” on Comorro Station while I prepared for the newcomers to materialize deep below the surface of Hekayt Prime. The dark matter-gathering facility, which I expect to play a significant role in the Shattered Mirror arc, so far had only existed as mentioned in a couple of news articles. This situation created an opportunity to introduce the place and some of the people who work there. So, now, the facility isn’t just some vague place in a news article – it’s starting to take on shape, color, sound, smell. It’s also a good spot for the newly transferred Necro characters to get familiar with the universe before they’re tossed out to fend for themselves.

So, it was a curve ball, but a good one.

  1. Arie Taylor
    March 1, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    So wait. That was off the cuff?

    Good show. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • March 1, 2010 at 9:23 pm

      Believe it or not, A LOT of what I do on OtherSpace is off-the-cuff. Some events just have more warning than others. (And, honestly, the ones that happen more spontaneously and without warning do often work out best.)

  2. Loki
    March 2, 2010 at 10:07 am

    I completely have to agree there. I find that some of the best events I’ve run were when I’ve just plunked myself down in a room somewhere and @walled that there was going to be RP there. Half the time I’ve got something in mind like ‘I wonder what would happen if..’ or ‘How would players react to this situation?’ (and the other half I just know I feel like doing something, but not necessarily what).

    I had a lot of fun with this event. I’m glad that Brody did too and I was glad to see a lot of players get involved with it.

    I always have to give kudos to the players because it’s your involvement that makes running stuff fun for me and we have a lot of talented players here. But I have to give Brody HUGE Kudos here for putting up with my last minute “Lets do this now…” and for running an awesome event. ๐Ÿ˜€

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

