Home > Movies > Short Attention Span Review: “The Book of Eli”

Short Attention Span Review: “The Book of Eli”

When the world thawed out enough after the snowpocalypse for us to take the Juicebox through the slushy wastelands of Cary this past weekend, I finally got to go see The Book of Eli.

I’ve got some things to say about the movie. If you haven’t seen it and don’t want to be spoiled, do not read any further.

Seriously. Turn back.

Turn back NOW.

Oh, all right. If you insist on sticking around…

I work on a post-apocalyptic MMORPG, so I love seeing a great new work of post-apoc art. That’s what the Hughes Brothers have given us with this stark, sepia-toned adventure through the ruins of the American west. They deliver dazzling action sequences, memorable vistas framed like they came straight out of a graphic novel, and provide a nifty twist at the end that makes me REALLY want to watch the movie again with a new perspective.

Some will tell you that the twist is that the book Eli carries with him is a Christian Bible.

That’s not the twist. The twist is that the Bible is in Braille and that Eli, apparently a master swordsman and no slouch with a gun, bow, or grenade, was blinded by the great “flash” thirty years earlier.

I did not see the blind gunslinger twist coming.

Good story, well told, with some fantastic cameos from Tom Waits, Michael Chabon, and Malcolm McDowell. See it on the big screen while you can.

  1. February 9, 2010 at 10:11 am

    You know, it’s funny. I thought, “I can read this review; I have no interest in The Book of Eli,” but now that I read your review I kind of want to see it, and now I kind of wish I hadn’t read the review. 🙂

    Avast. Kind of like Fight Club, when I had no interest in seeing it until I learned that the twist made it more interesting than just a lot of solid ass-kicking.

    • February 9, 2010 at 10:12 am

      Yeah, I was happily impressed by that twist and I *will* be seeing it again, soon!

  1. February 2, 2010 at 8:13 am
  2. February 3, 2010 at 12:19 am

Leave a Reply

