Home > Monday MUD Day > Monday MUD Day: 1/18/2010

Monday MUD Day: 1/18/2010

Today’s selections include:

* A Moment in Tyme
* Shadows of Isildur
* Sneezy MUD
* CyberAssault

  1. DD
    January 26, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    Hey, handy Google alerted me to this. Thanks for including Sneezy – may I ask what made you choose it?

    • January 26, 2010 at 3:16 pm

      Actually, it caught my eye as I was perusing MUDGamers.com, if I recall correctly. I used to work at Walt Disney World. Sneezy, of course, one of the dwarves.

      • DD
        January 26, 2010 at 3:28 pm

        Haha, great. Well, we appreciate the inclusion. If anyone from your blog gets a mind to try the game, they can get a tutorial here if they like: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pukslQWRMTU I have a similar in-game NPC-driven optional tutorial as well.

        Thanks again and take care!

      • January 26, 2010 at 3:34 pm

        Sure thing! Best of luck with Sneezy!

      • Sergeytov
        January 26, 2010 at 5:11 pm

        While I don’t have any particular interest in the type of MU* Sneezy seems to be, I did watch the video that was linked to. It seemed quite informative and I liked the visuals. It would have been great if something like that was around a decade ago when I started my adventures killing fidos and rats.

        If I may ask, in your experience, does the video work for newbies to MU*ing?

  2. DD
    January 26, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Sergeytov :
    If I may ask, in your experience, does the video work for newbies to MU*ing?

    It certainly appears to help a lot more than the nearly-identically-formatted in-game tutorial, as it’s certainly more sound-bite oriented and can’t be skimmed. I did a lot of testing of the in-game tutorial and found there’s very little I can do (in-game) about people who skim over instructions and then wind up confused.

    However, the video tutorial does assume a general knowledge of the genre. It’s on one of the ‘things I keep thinking about doing but probably never will’ list to create some kind of introduction to MU*ing in general in the same style.

  1. January 20, 2010 at 1:45 am

Leave a Reply

