Home > Movies > Best Movie of the Decade: “O Brother, Where Art Thou?”

Best Movie of the Decade: “O Brother, Where Art Thou?”

Hands down, O Brother, Where Art Thou? wins my pick as the best movie of the first decade of the 21st Century.

A Coen Brothers masterpiece that took the epic legends of Homer’s Odyssey and draped them in the threadbare rags of Depression Era America, O Brother is a movie that I never tire of watching. If I happen upon it while channel surfing, I’ll stop a while as if meeting with an old friend.

Before O Brother, I didn’t really care much about George Clooney or his acting ability. After this movie, I started paying more attention to his work. It’s safe to say that because of O Brother, I looked forward to seeing him in The Men Who Stare at Goats and Up in the Air.

The music in the movie also helped set it apart – and above – every other movie during the decade. The blues, bluegrass, and deep-fried country tunes colored O Brother as much as any lens.

It dealt with racism, broken families, crime and punishment, political ambition, and the desire for stardom and celebrity. And it had one-eyed John Goodman beating the snot out of people with a tree limb.

So, as much as I enjoyed the spectacular Lord of the Rings trilogy, I have to give credit where it’s due: O Brother told an epic tale of fellowship, right down to the hunt for a lost ring, in a third of the time and with much fewer special effects or silly elf action sequences.

  1. November 16, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    Very good info. Lucky me I came across your site by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve book marked it for later!

  2. December 19, 2012 at 9:43 am

    Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and
    I in finding It

    truly helpful & it helped me out much. I hope to present something
    back and aid others like you helped me.

  3. December 30, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    Nice read, I just passed this onto a friend who
    was doing some research on that. And he

    actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile Thus let me rephrase
    that:

    Thanks for lunch!

  4. March 28, 2013 at 5:51 am

    Hello there, You’ve done a great job. I’ll

    definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m confident

    they’ll be benefited from this site.

  5. April 23, 2013 at 12:04 am

    Great items from you, man. I have bear in mind your stuff

    previous to and you are just extremely great. I really like what you have received right here,

    certainly like what you are stating and the way through which you say it.
    You make

    it entertaining and you continue to take care of
    to stay it sensible. I can’t wait to learn much more from you. This is actually a

    tremendous site.

  6. July 25, 2013 at 10:17 pm

    It’s amazing to pay a visit this web site and reading the views of all mates concerning this post, while I am also zealous of getting experience.

  7. October 1, 2013 at 9:58 pm

    As a cellulite unhealthy result, they have shorts, pants, capri pants,
    and panties. Some common oils to use with your massage include peppermint or lavender, both of
    which help stimulate fat cells. Well, expenses are chiefly dependent on what treatment method you adopt to get rid
    of cellulite, you will have to keep a strict watch on your diet.

    Developers claim their shoes help work to melt fat as well.
    Over time these strands begin to limit, pulling down on the ground, and slowly
    adding a lot more.

  1. July 1, 2011 at 9:31 pm

Leave a Reply

