Home > Out and About > “Obviously you’re not a golfer…”

“Obviously you’re not a golfer…”

Tonight I went bowling for the first time this decade.

And it showed. The little 6-year-old girl in Lane 21 bowled a better game than I did. Granted, she was in the kiddie lane with the rails where gutters should be, but I have to be honest: She didn’t hit the rails much.

I, on the other hand, found the gutter – left and right – far too many times.

A couple of times, I got lucky and hit strikes. If I didn’t strike, though, I either missed completely or only hit a handful of pins and failed to close the deal on the spare.

We played twenty frames. The first 10, I walked away with a score that I completely forgot. The second game, I came in second with something like 68. Pretty pathetic.

However, I will note that I think the borrowed ball had holes that were just a LITTLE too small for my fingers, which hampered my release. Also, I drank Mountain Dew, which might have been way too sugary for bowling. I should have gone with beer.

Anyway, it was fun despite the dismal performance. We’ll go back. Next time, I’ll work on my form and technique a bit more.

The Dude abides.

  1. Rarrisaurus
    December 23, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    If it makes you feel any better, a Rarrie is not fantastic at bowling either. I have really thin wrists, so they don’t seem to like the weight of the bowling balls all that much, which does not make for an easy throw.

    I almost put “the weight of the balls” just now. Dodged that one. >_>

    – R

    • December 23, 2009 at 4:25 pm

      I can edit your responses! YOU MAY NOT HAVE DODGED THOSE BALLS AT ALL.

  2. Rarrisaurus
    December 23, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    The balls that are too heavy for my wrists, you mean?!

    Rar: keeping it classy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

