Home > Blog Housekeeping > A new blog…

A new blog…

In which, to absolutely no one’s surprise, yours truly starts fresh with a new blog.

The usual reason: I vowed to stop screwing around so drastically with the Jointhesaga.com website every three months, I won’t reboot OtherSpace again for at least a decade, and I still need to satisfy my need to shuffle furniture about.

Additional reasons: I can’t quite put my finger on it yet, but I like WordPress a lot more than Blogger. I spent a lot of time on the No Son of Hekayt blog during November 2009, so I’ve become very comfortable and familiar with the interface. Plus: Someone had plain old “Plattitudes.blogspot.com” claimed way back in the day, so I had to settle for “Plattitudesforall.blogspot.com” as a consolation prize. Hated it. On WordPress, however, I could claim “Plattitudes.wordpress.com.”

So, here we are. A new blog.

Right off the bat, I can tell you: I’m going to neglect it. It’ll happen. There’ll be bursts of activity when I have the luxury of time to ramble about things, but I’m fairly certain that you can expect significant delays between posts. I’m apparently terrible at blogging *unless* it is part of a coordinated, focused activity like National Novel Writing Month. Under those circumstances, I seem capable of posting at least once a day for a month straight.

I’ve blamed lazy blogging on Twitter and Facebook in the past. They’re easy scapegoats. I’ll try to quit blaming them. Maybe instead I can try to have them serve more to inform what I’m doing here in the blog and then have what I do in the blog provide more of an influence on what shows up on Twitter and Facebook.

I’ll definitely share links of interest about Fallen Earth, the graphical MMORPG that just launched this fall, particularly press releases, contests, dev journals, interviews and such. However, I won’t be delving a lot into any day-to-day FE development. Sorry!

I will probably prattle on about my text-based games – OtherSpace and Necromundus – at Jointhesaga.com. I’ll talk about challenges involved in keeping such games vital in an age dominated by exactly the sort of big graphical MMORPGs that pay my bills. I may share behind the scenes stuff from JTS. Maybe throw up some tidbits as I continue working on my novel from NaNoWriMo 2009. The adventures of Stamp (my Tauren warrior on Earthen Ring server at World of Warcraft) – as well as some character adventures inspired by OS and Necromundus – are liable to show up here at some point.

I’d like to use the blog as a platform to expand on the outreach work that I *feel* like I’m doing via Twitter and Facebook, with an eye toward helping my fellow text-based MU* developers ensure that this form of online entertainment perseveres. I want to use it to examine things that have worked, things that haven’t, and things that I might be trying in the near future.

Categories: Blog Housekeeping
  1. December 5, 2009 at 3:19 am

    Awesome! I really enjoy your sense of humor on Twitter, and saw you were firing this up on Facebook, so wanted to come and leave a comment here to cheer you on.

    I’m also trying to restart using my blog as opposed to neglecting it, so let’s hope this works for both of us. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

